Confusing Information

Status
Not open for further replies.

Footman

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi I'm new to diabetes having been 'borderline' for some years.
I am just so confused. After a search of the internet everyone seems to use different blood sugar units, sometimes not even giving what units were used at all. I have found many disagreements between as to what levels are deemed normal etc. For example what I am told by my NHS nurse as regards a 'safe level' is not in agreement with Diabetes UK. Also my fasting and non-fasting levels are not distinguished.
Any advice?

Hello @Footman

Welcome to the forum!

Sorry you are a bit confused, but I confess I’m a little confused by your post and I’m not sure exactly what you are looking for.

Here are some basics

General ‘how are you doing’ check (HbA1c)
This is measured in mmol/mol but *used* to be measured in percent. And many of us old timers have the familiar imperial/metric type confusion when told a distance in Km, but want to know what it really is 😉

People with diabetes (both T1 and T2) are told to aim for an HbA1c of 48mmol/mol (6.5%) or less. The lower the number the more reduction in risk of long term complications you have, but also there is a degree of increased risk of hypoglycaemia.

This test doesn’t need to be fasting as what is being measured changes over 120 days, rather than it being a spot-check.

What’s happening now check (BG, SMBG or fingerstick)
These are the readings that you can take yourself with a meter and strips that give you your BG level right then and there. In the UK it’s measured in mmol/L but in the US and some parts of Europe it’s measured in mg/dl (for which you multiply UK readings by 18).

The recommendations for T1 are generally 4-7mmol/L before meals and no higher than 9mmol/L approx 2 hours after a meal.