Confused with numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

CoventryTrev

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 3c
Hi everyone.
I'm new to diabetes (9 weeks) and new to insulin (2 weeks). I'm on 6 units of Novorapid 3 times a day with meals and 8 units of lantus at bedtime.
I use the Libre 2 sensor and the numbers are often over 15, I've confirmed this with a finger prick.
My diabetes nurse has told me to give myself an extra 2 units of Novorapid if I go over 15. Then check my numbers two hours later and if they are still over 15, give myself another 2 units.
I've been doing the above but it's nearly always over 15. I'm worried I'm going to give myself too much Novorapid.
Any advice would be much appreciated.
I'm seeing my diabetes nurse again on Friday.
Thanks

Sounds like your lantus, the background stuff will need increasing, but as you are only new wait for your nurse to say. Or ask them?

I had this issue with novorapid myself, if I was high and corrected it just wouldn’t budge until after 2 hours, and then over correcting is an issue as you have pointed out. Maybe you could try 1 unit at the 2 hour point.

Have you done any carb counting yet?
Doesn’t sound like it with the same doses at each meal, unless you are eating exactly the same food each meal.
What are your meals normally?

I bet you feel rotten. I do if over 13 for any length of time

Sounds like your lantus, the background stuff will need increasing, but as you are only new wait for your nurse to say. Or ask them?

I had this issue with novorapid myself, if I was high and corrected it just wouldn’t budge until after 2 hours, and then over correcting is an issue as you have pointed out. Maybe you could try 1 unit at the 2 hour point.

Have you done any carb counting yet?
Doesn’t sound like it with the same doses at each meal, unless you are eating exactly the same food each meal.
What are your meals normally?

I bet you feel rotten. I do if over 13 for any length of time
Hi Phoebe.