Confused readings

Freemo

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi all. I’ve been type 2 for about 12 months now and take Metformin. I’ve recently purchased a blood sugar fingerprick kit.
I started using it yesterday with an initial reading of 5.3 in the morning. I ate a total of 12g carbs and 2 hours later I was registering 16.5. This morning I registered ,12 hours after any food, 16.6. I’ve had just 4g of carbs today and just tested at 17.3.
I feel absolutely fine and wonder if I’m doing the testing wrong, I just don’t get it. Any advice would be very welcome

Hi Freemo and welcome.
I wonder if your hands are at room temperature when you take the readings. I think cold hands will affect reading. I would say its very hard to consume just 4g carbs in a day, you may be consuming hidden carbs perhaps? Which monitor did you get? If these figures persist you may want to mention it to your clinic and get a HbA1c test done.

Last edited:
I'm very new to this. Are you on just metaformin? I'm on an additional medication an SGLT2 which means I need to keep carbs at a reasonable level. What ive noticed is appropriate exercise after a meal can help BG to go down eg a short walk gardening stair climbing.
Also I got one higher reading a bit out of kilter and realised I had just rinsed my hands before testing. I had washed hands before the meal but just rinsed hands before later test. I then washed my hands with soap and water and reading was much lower.
I'm still wearing L plates. No doubt you will get further good advice. I know some carbs work well for some but not others eg porridge and similarly delaying eating in the morning can mean liver says the body needs glucose and gives you some!

Hi Freemo and welcome.