colonoscopy

Status
Not open for further replies.

SEDGEROW

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I AM A TYPE I DIABETIC WHO IS CURRENTLY AWAITING A COLONOSCOPY, I MUST ADMIT TO BEING QUITE CONCERNED ABOUT THE PREP FOR THIS PROCEDURE, HOW WILL THE TWENTY FOUR HOURS WITHOUT FOOD EFFECT MY DIABETES? WOULD LIKE TO HEAR FROM ANYONE WHO HAS BEEN THROUGH THIS PROCEDURE. MANY THANKS

Have you been given any guidance on what you can have? Usually on "bowel prep" you can have some "clear fluids" - when I was a student on a GI ward 20 years ago that included jelly made up with water, hot bovril, and black tea or coffee. I'm not sure if advice has changed on acceptable "foods" for bowel prep but you almost certainly will be able to have something for any hypos caused by basal - actually, that's a point - are you on basal/bolus insulins, mixed insulin or a pump? I would think that mixed would be most difficult to manage on such a restricted diet, the others you could reduce bolus as necessary for the lack of usual carbohydrate intake

Had it done twice, both times only told not to eat anything after 8pm, so fast was 12hrs not 24hrs.

Managed both times ok in regards to bg control, only issue was drinking that laxative to empty bowels, disgusting stuff but you have to take it so they have clear view during procedure.

Told fluids like black tea & water were fine during fast but nothing few hours before going to theatre, procedure is fine & only feels slightly uncomfortable. Good luck.

Nothing coloured to drink.
I can't remember specifics, but things like ribena, and heavily coloured stuff as it can dye your colon.