Cold Symptoms

Status
Not open for further replies.

mscharlottek

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi all!!! I'm a newbie here, I've been type1 diabetic for 14 years. When I was diagnosed, one of the main symptoms was cold/flu like symptoms. I still have a cold almost constantly. I'm wondering if it's sugar related. Does anyone else have this issue? Constantly fatigued, snotty and coughing. X

Hi and welcome.

Goodness! Do you mean that you have been suffering cold/flu symptoms persistently for 14 years and no one has investigates them? No, I have never heard anyone mention such symptoms related to diabetes.
What is your diabetes management like? Are you on a pump or MDI? Which insulins do you use and have you always used the same insulins? Just wondering if it could be some sort of reaction to a particular insulin.
Do you have Freestyle Libre or other CGM? Are you managing to keep your HbA1c or Time in Range if you have CGM at a reasonable level?
Are you able to get out for exercise like a walk regularly. I know my lungs will clog up if I don't get enough exercise but if i walk plenty I don't need my inhalers.

Anyway, if you can tell us a bit more about your diabetes management and what if any investigations have been done with regard to your symptoms, it may ring a bell with someone.