Change of Pump

Status
Not open for further replies.

Isy2607

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I am new to this forum. I am a type 1 and have been for over 30 years and I am currently looking to change to a different pump, I have had an Accucheck Insight for 10 years but am now looking at moving to a different brand. The Medtronic 780g is appealing to me with its auto correction facilities and bolus calculation. What are peoples views on this pump? Thanks.

Sorry, I have no experience of Medtronic pumps so cannot answer your question.

My advice would be to talk to your diabetes team to find out what they offer.
Some CCGs have a wide choice but mine gives the option of one pump or injections.
It can be disappointing when you set your heart on something only to be told it is not available.

Regarding the Medtronic 780g, obviously, it requires the CGM for the auto corrections so, if this pump is an option for your CCG, you will need to find out if they will fund the CGM or whether you will need to self fund.

There are lots of pumps on the market, and it's exciting when you get to change. I currently use the 670g and it has been great in automode. The only downside is if you can't get funded sensors you would have to purchase them yourself to get the full use of the 780G.

I would speak to your team and see what pumps they are offering out. If they mention 780g ask them about the sensors, and if you could get them funded.

As others have said, each area tends to offer different pumps. I have recently started using the 780G and I have to self fund the sensors. I am currently using it in manual mode, which is very similar to any other pump, with the different Bolus options, TBRs, ... I was on an Accu Chek Combo before.
The things I have noticed so far
Positives
There is the option of a slower Bolus delivery.
I find this great as my cannula sites are a lot happier than before.
I now never get bubbles developing in the tubing.