Carrying a spare pen

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ref

Relationship to Diabetes
Other Type
I've been using my 640g for a few months and in the main we get on very well, though it does like to attempt the odd bungee jump!

As instructed I also carry around a spare pen and needles with me. I just realised today that I'm still carrying around the same pen as I was a few months ago so it is probably well past its use by date.

This got me thinking - do all pump users carry around a spare pen and throw it away each month? Seems a waste

Andy

I've been using my 640g for a few months and in the main we get on very well, though it does like to attempt the odd bungee jump!

As instructed I also carry around a spare pen and needles with me. I just realised today that I'm still carrying around the same pen as I was a few months ago so it is probably well past its use by date.

This got me thinking - do all pump users carry around a spare pen and throw it away each month? Seems a waste

Andy
I don't use disposable pens because as you say, they are a terrible waste. I do carry a reusable pen and a cartridge which I try to remember to change every month. I was thinking this morning that it would be less wasteful to carry a syringe instead and use the insulin from the pump cartridge if it goes wrong, but I'd rather not carry syringes in my bag.

Good idea. I'll speak to my GP about switching.

One other question I had is what to do if the insulin left in the vial isn't enough to fill up the pump reservoir. I've been throwing it and the reservoir in the bin and starting a new vial as I didn't think it a good idea to mix insulin from different vials. Again, it seems wasteful. Any thoughts?

Good idea. I'll speak to my GP about switching.