Carb ratio

Status
Not open for further replies.

jonesf492

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi guys.
I’m wondering if anyone can help me my carb to insulin ratio has been changed today from 1:10g to 1:0.8g so for every 0.8g carbs I inject 1 unit. My maths isn’t terrible but I’m wondering on a calculator what’s the easiest way to work this out? If anyone could help.
Thank you

Hi guys.
I’m wondering if anyone can help me my carb to insulin ratio has been changed today from 1:10g to 1:0.8g so for every 0.8g carbs I inject 1 unit. My maths isn’t terrible but I’m wondering on a calculator what’s the easiest way to work this out? If anyone could help.
Thank you
Are you sure it is 0.8g and not 8g as that would be a vast change and you would be injecting a huge amount of insulin.
Please do NOT do it until you double check it is that.

Hi @jonesf492

There seems to be a strong desire amongst DSNs to count everything in 10g portions.
I am an engineer who uses maths every day and found this very confusing ... maybe the way my brain works.

Would it help you to think of 1 unit of insulin for every 12g* carbs? You would just need to use the standard calculator on your phone to divide the total number of carbs by 12 to get the number of units of insulin.

If I have just completely confused you and you want to use the 0.8 units to 10g ratio, on a calculator you need

TOTAL NUMBER OF CARBS divided by 10 multiplied by 0.8

Whichever method you use, you will need to round the number down to accommodate the number of units your pen can dose.
As your ratio is quite low, I hope you have a 0.5 unit pen (if not, I recommend requesting one). Then, if your calculation suggests 3.7 units, you can give yourself 3.5 units.

---------

*I have done a little bit of rounding to make it easier as 0.8 to 10g is actually 1 unit to 12.5g carbs

Sorry 0.8:10 so every 0.8 units to 10g of carbs.