• Community Members: Please be respectful of other peoples' opinions within our online community

Carb levels and choices in T1

Pattidevans

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
This off topic conversation was split from another thread here: https://forum.diabetes.org.uk/boards/threads/mody-has-anyones-diagnosis-changed.96252/#post-1111097

I don’t agree that low carb is the way to go (unless you choose to) It’s unnecessary and damages insulin sensitivity, which is something I want to maintain. There’s a lot of info online about insulin sensitivity and how to maintain it.
As we so often say "every one is different". I have been moderating my carbs now for over 18 years and still have excellent insulin sensitivity. I don't cut carbs out entirely, but I've never been that fond of eating tons of carbohydrate. I eat a pasta meal about once a month, pizza is once a year and if I have a burger I only eat half the bun. However, a carb heavy meal that most people think is "normal" will skew my BGs for over 24 hours as the more carbs the more room for errors in dosing. Witness yesterday when we were at some friends' house for lunch and I had tons of carbs. FBG this morning 12.9 and I am still struggling to get the numbers down mid-afternoon.

Last edited by a moderator:

Inka

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
It depends how many carbs you count as “tons” @Pattidevans :D I’m intrigued:D If someone (not referring to you - a hypothetical someone) eats a very low level of carbs usually and then has a highish carb meal then that can push their blood sugar unnaturally high. That’s a pain when someone wants an occasional carby meal.

I’ve never had a high carb meal give me a high blood sugar for as long a time as you describe. Generally the highest I would go in the event of max carbs/carb estimates is 9ish. Sometimes if I’ve eaten vast quantities then my blood sugar will take 3 or more hours to come back down to below 7 but the effect is short lived not more than a day as you describe.