Carb free low fat snacks

Kooky

Relationship to Diabetes
Parent
Hi all newbie here can anyone recommend any carb free low fat snacks that would appeal to a 7 year old. My daughter is type one but trying to find snacks she can have is proving difficult.

rebrascora

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Is there any particular reason why they have to be low fat snacks?
Most of us who follow a low carb diet eat more fat because the fat provides the calories that we are not getting from carbs and the fat keeps us feeling full whereas carbs just make you hungry for more.
A chunk of cheese.... other people recommend Babybel which may be more appealing to kids but I prefer less processed cheese, or a salami stick works for me or veggie sticks with a sour cream and chive dip or a boiled egg with mayonnaise or a packet of pork scratchings or a packet of nuts.... but these things are all quite high in fat.

everydayupsanddowns

Administrator
Staff member
Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Sugar free jelly pots are popular.

Carrot sticks are still something I really enjoy (with or without dips!)

Peanuts are a good go-to too if they appeal, but watch the salt intake!

Be very careful of sugar free sweets though... the polyols give you painful wind and gastric upset (online reviews of Haribo Sugar Free are eyewatering to read)

Kooky

Relationship to Diabetes
Parent
salami stick works for me or veggie sticks with a sour cream and chive dip or a boiled egg with mayonnaise or a packet of pork scratchings
Hi all newbie here can anyone recommend any carb free low fat snacks that would appeal to a 7 year old. My daughter is type one but trying to find snacks she can have is proving difficult.
Thank you. Low fat is because the dr's have suggested to get her to lose weight she isn't obese just heavier than most her age . We are still learning and it is so difficult trying to find a happy balance for her

Toucan

Forum Host
Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2