Carb Counting Advice Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

lemit

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi All

I've been put on the Basul Bolus regime today (Levemir and NovoRapid) so need to carb count. (I was only diagnosed 2 weeks ago so still getting used to it all!)

I had a Jacket Potato for dinner which weighed 260g and the label said it had 17.2g of carbs per 100g. Which by maths would give me a carb portion of around 4.5.

However I was given a leaflet at the hospital which says a Jacket potato of 330g (mirowaved) is 10 CP's, so on that ratio my potato would have had a CP of nearly 8.

I'm confused as hell as I wasn't sure how much Novorapid to use? Have I gone wrong in my calculation?

Cheers

Hi
Im new to carb countin too. Wa diagnosed month a go but only started on novorapid 1 week a go.

The way i understand it ur calculation is right. I have had same problem wi some foods and so far have gone wi what it says on the food label. My levels are gettin better and so far i seem to be calculating things about right.

Have u seen book 'Carb Counter' its a Collins Gem book, i have found this useful. Its small so easy to carry with u.

Good luck.

is the hospital one the cooked weight? Potatoes will lose weight when cooked due to the loss of water. The carbs stay the same though so I usually weigh before cooking and use the uncooked weight guide to assess what I need.

Pasta and rice work in the reverse in that they gain weight during cooking.

Hi the collins gem book states: 90g baked potato with flesh and skin is 28.5.
So this would make your 260g potato 49.6 (if my maths is correct) which is nearer to your calculations! I also carb count for my son and often find differences depending on which reference you use - its not easy is it? Bev

Thanks for the replies,

Yeah its confusing Bev, I was doing really well on the 2 injections a day routine so was I'm a little apprehensive about this new regime but nearly everyone I've spoken to says its much better.