Can anyone help - advice for using pen with one hand

Status
Not open for further replies.

Diabetesdoc27

Hi, wondered if anyone can help - I am a diabetes hospital doctor directed to this site by Diabetes UK - I am trying to findout if anyone has experience of using insulin pen devices with one hand - looking for gripping or clamp device to hold pen and or meter to allow needle change, cartridge change and to allow dialling dose. person needing this is currently in hospital, and can inject fine once dose dialled, but to live at home alone independantly needs to be able to deal with injections and test - our occupational therapy team can't come up with anything, and I just feel there must be people out there with similar problems either as result of injury / stroke / surgery. Have looked at various websites but struggling to find anything suitable. Any advice from anyone in similar situation or who has a solution gratefully accepted

Hi, we do have at least one member that I know of who uses only one hand. I will message her to make sure she sees this 🙂

Hi, how lovely that you have bothered to try and find an answer. I had a stroke two months ago which affected my right side and I too struggled to do my jabs. It was an absolute nightmare, I'd get the needle in but then not be able to operate the pen. I was lucky in that I soon regained reasonable use of my hand and also had my husband who sort of balanced the pen with his hand so I still felt "sort of" independent. It's something I have thought about since and would be interested in someone finding a solution to this most basic requirement for anyone using insulin who is affected in a similar way. Fortunately I am now able to use my hand fairly well.

Your patient is lucky to have such a thoughtful doctor as no-one even thought to ask me how I was coping. Karen.

Hi, we do have at least one member that I know of who uses only one hand. I will message her to make sure she sees this 🙂
And here i am 🙂