Called back for blood test. Nervous and don’t know what to expect

Status
Not open for further replies.

LucysLostSister

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Been having a rubbish winter health wise. Drs just called to have me make an appointment for another test as blood glucose increased. Family history of type 2 in older women I’m 50.

I’m very nervous and scared of getting a serious diagnosis like this as I’ve been fortunate that physical health has been ok most of my life.

Don’t know how I’ll cope with a dx and making the necessary lifestyle changes. I’m not good at this stuff.

Advice and reassurance would be most welcome.

I was diagnosed in my mid 60s and it was very simple to reverse - it is an inability to deal with carbohydrate but as an ordinary type 2 all I needed to do was reduce the carbohydrate in my diet and that fixed it.

I just snuck into the diabetic zone a couple of years ago having been prediabetic for a few years but by making some lifestyle changes primarily dietary I was able to reduce my Hba1C into the normal range by adopting the principals in this link. https://lowcarbfreshwell.co.uk/
It is a low carbohydrate approach which I found very easy to implement and it is now my new normal way of eating.
You doctor has implied you HbA1C is higher than it should be but may be borderline if they want to repeat the test.
Do find out what the actual result is as that will indicate how far into the diabetic zone you are and therefore how much work you need to do. To give you a diabetes diagnosis your HbA1C will be a number over 47mmol/mol, if below that but over 42mmol/mol that will put you in the at risk zone which is basically a wake up call to make some changes.
Take the opportunity to find out what it is all about then you can be ready to ask questions once you get your results.

Hope you are able to get an update early next week so that you have an idea of what your levels are up to, and gauge what course of action might help.