Byetta -pen and needle questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

SharpieL

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hello - I have just been told I am to have Byetta. I have to go for the training on Monday.

I am not good with needles and I am really worried about the "stabbing" myself idea.

I had gestational in 2003 and had to inject insulin - I had an autoinjector device where I dialed up the dose and pressed a button that send the needle in and the insulin.

I am guessing these Byetta pens are not like that?

Can anyone tell me their coping tips?

Thanks for any info.

Lynda

I'm type 2, so can't offer any advice on the pens. One of the things I was worried about was testing myself, but i manage that with ease. There are a lot of people who worry about injecting, yet still manage to.

Go for the training, it will be a learning curve for you, and find out as much as you can.

Sometimes when we don't know or don't understand things seem scarier than they are. It wont be too long before someone comes along to give you re-assurance about the pens.

Hello - I have just been told I am to have Byetta. I have to go for the training on Monday.

I am not good with needles and I am really worried about the "stabbing" myself idea.

I had gestational in 2003 and had to inject insulin - I had an autoinjector device where I dialed up the dose and pressed a button that send the needle in and the insulin.

Thanks for any info.

Lynda

Hi Lynda

I haven't come across the byetta pen but I was on the novopen for quite a while. When I moved counties I got told I had a phobia of needles and was sent for therapy.

What the therapist did was get me to think of pain on a scale of 1 - 10 and then think of something that was not really painful and something that was as much pain as I could take.