Byetta Breakfasts

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lizzie53

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Just wondering what the Byetta crowd have for breakfast. I have been getting great weight loss and BG levels with a scrambled egg on Burgen toast. However I have hit a problem, since moving onto the 10 dose nausea from 9-11am has been troublesome to the point that last week I felt too ill to work in the mornings. I feel so bloated with it and tired about an hour after eating. So today I have tried something different - half a banana, a few raspberries and a tablespoon of yogurt. So far I feel OK, I haven't tested BG's yet to see what effect it has had. I read somewhere that you need about 30-40g of carbs per meal with Byetta. I'm not good at counting carbs unless it is on the packet and I don't know what that came to but I'm sure it was higher than the egg on toast. I'll have to get a book I think. I think that perhaps the slice of Burgen and egg may not have been enough carbs. I used to really enjoy that egg for breakfast but will have it as an omelette and salad for lunch today.

Hi Lizzie my breakfast varies i split the week in half i have cornflakes with semi skimmed 3 times in the week and 4 times i have 2 pieces of grilled bacon and scrambled egg.If the nausea does not pass or at least die down go back and have a word with your DSN hun about going back to the 5 mg, the 10 just does not suit everyone.

Funny thing with it is I feel vile between 9-11 and then suddenly I am fine again. It hasn't been quite as bad this week and today after the change in breakfast I'm fine (fingers x). I've steered clear of cereal as I thought it was too high in carbs but maybe trying to stay lowish carb doesn't work with Byetta. I'm off to test now to see what blood is doing.

Very strange that 2 hour thing,the expert thedame may be able to shed some light lol.I've always been fine with the corn flakes .Come back and let me know what your levels are hun.x