Bubbles

Status
Not open for further replies.

papabear365

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I am a newbie on the pump (only a month and a half) and bubbles in my reservoir is doing my head in ive tried degassing and its helped a bit any suggestions?:confused:

Hi and welcome to the forum 🙂

Which pump do you have? My son uses the Medtronic Veo, so I can help with anything specific to that!

In general, it does take a while to perfect your reservoir-filling technique when you first start pumping. Are you getting bubbles right from the start or are they appearing after a couple of days? It's important to use a vial of insulin that is at room temperature, NOT from the fridge, otherwise air which is dissolved in the insulin evaporates out into bubbles as it warms up. The degassing method can be useful, but whatever technique you use, don't rush! Hold the reservoir upright and use something hard like a coin to give a few sharp taps to the outside of the reservoir, sending any bubbles up to the top. They can then be expelled through the tubing in the priming process.

Good tips from Redkite.

You are not alone... Lots of peeps get trouble with bubbles and there are millions of suggestions online. You jus have to work out a combination that you find effective.

Go VERY careful with 'degassing' - too much of a vacuum and the little rubber-ring seals on the reservoir plunger can easily fail, allowing insulin to leak back towards the piston - I had that several times before giving up/adapting the technique.

Other thoughts on bubbles over here: http://diabetes-support.org.uk/diabetesforum/index.php/topic,4448.0.html