Bolus advice please!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi all

I am fairly new to pumping and a little confused... Two hrs after a meal bolus is given my blood tst reading is good. However I still have insulin on board, sometimes quite a bit and from that time onwards I am hypoing. I have been drastically lowering my basal thinking this was the answer but now having thought logically about it again I wonder if I should still have IOB at all if my meal bolus was correct? HELP!

Hi all

I am fairly new to pumping and a little confused... Two hrs after a meal bolus is given my blood tst reading is good. However I still have insulin on board, sometimes quite a bit and from that time onwards I am hypoing. I have been drastically lowering my basal thinking this was the answer but now having thought logically about it again I wonder if I should still have IOB at all if my meal bolus was correct? HELP!

Yes you would have IOB as the duration of insulin is anything from 3hrs (apidra) to perhaps 6 hours for the human or animal insulin's.

As you are new to pumping Rule no one never guess :D
Simple solution is to basal test and see what's going on. If all ok then check your carb ratio and carb counting skills.

Some foods need different types of bolus so the bolus matches the digestion of the food you have eaten.

Hi, if your BGs are in range two hours after a meal that's great. Try reducing your basal rate for the period from one hour after the meal to three hours after the meal - this should prevent you dropping to hypo. This should result in a nice flat profile, whereas if you reduced your bolus you would spike up and then drop back down. 🙂

I would expect *some* sort of rise after a meal (even non-D's get that!). I know what I consider to be a reasonable rise, and what I consider to be too much.