Blood sugar not getting below 6.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

AngelDelight

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hello-sorry this is long but I am getting it off my chest!

I've had T2 diabetes for years. I'm on metformin.
I'm not very good with my diet but have been trying to be low carb for a few months now but struggle with it to be honest. I have frequent days when I fall off the wagon!

I've only been testing regulalry for about 6 months. For the last few weeks, my results have rarely been below 6.5 and this is unusual - I would often have results in the 5s before this, usually before eating (I try to test before a meal and 2 hours after).

Today for example I had a cup of tea + one piece of toast + butter +marmite. (I know that toast is not low carb - but having done regular tests it has less affect on my blood sugar than many other options- I've just checked back over my diary & I can have a piece of toast and 2 hours later my reading can be 5.8 - so toast is one of my options- particularly in a a hurry). Today it was 6.9.

I know the answer is speak to my GP / nurse and I need to make an appointment (difficult as that is!). But if anyone has any ideas or supportive words I'd be grateful.
I had bad news from my diabetic eye screening last year (November) and I know that I need to get things under control at this point.
Thanks
Angel Delight

There’s absolutely nothing wrong with a reading of 6.5, it’s perfectly normal. What are the highest readings you get?

Thanks for replying.

The highest I get is 8 or 9 - that's usually when I know I've had a lot of carb / sugar.
I suppose it's that the pattern is changing - a breakfast of toast doesn't usually mean my reading is nearly 7 two hours later.

When I was first diagnosed I was easily always in the 5s and then it crept up to the 6s. I think Diabetes is insidious, you have to be vigilant. Got a 5 this morning and was quite jubilant. 🙂