Being forced to change my BSG meter

Wendiferous

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Pronouns
She/Her
I have been informed by my GP surgery that I have to change my BSG monitoring meter as they will no longer provide strips for the Accu-check mobile I have been using for the last 15 years. Is this happening elsewhere? The one they suggest replacing it with is a GlucoRx one, which uses individual test strips and looks a lot less convenient. I was hoping to have a combined ketone and BSG meter but they have refused to provide a ketone meter, so recommendations on those would be welcome as well, so I can purchase my own. Are others given choice over what meter they use or are we all now being told there are no options?

At my last review the DN told me that if my Accu check Nano failed then it would be replaced by something else. In the meantime, they will continue to prescribe strips since it seems Accucheck are still making them. If and when they stop doing that, I'll go with the flow and take whatever meter our surgery wants to offer. I take the view that in terms of getting a blood glucose level, they are all as good (optimist),or as bad (pessimist), as each other.

Have you a history of high ketones? For me, the odd test done in the surgery has not raised any flags and as such, a ketone meter is something I have never really thought about, even though I like measuring things