Basal issues...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Freddie99

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Ok folks this is the issue. I now take my levemir at about eight in the evening. Now as a student I'm normally up into the small hours and awake rather late. The thing I have noticed over the past few nights is that without any fast acting in my system (despite having to correct and deal with ketones on a few evenings this week) my bloods have dropped. I can wake up at seven ish in the morning to get a glass of water and test my blood which comes out to be in range (four to ten millimoles per litre) but if I then go back to sleep until say ten I've shot up to about fifteen millimoles per litre.
My theory is that my basal makes me hypo and then I bounce back. This is quite possible as my hypo awarness is on the way out and I sleep like a dead man.
When the nurse last saw my blood spreadsheets she told me to increase my levemir gradually. However, this seemingly had no effect. Prior to going to uni I had my basal just so. This was because I'd reduced it from split dose to a single dose of twenty four units in the evening. You see, my last DSN (coincidentally the one who has looked after me since diagnosis) thought that I was getting too much basal. I think she was spot on. Trouble is that my current DSN doesn't see it that way.

I suppose I must come to the conclusion of my dissertation and ask the burgeoning question does anybody have a flaming clue? My levemir at the moment is at twenty six units.

Tom

I find that if I wake up normal time I'm in range but a lie in makes me rise. Also have the same if I get up but don't eat for a while. I'd put it down to dawn phenomenon/ the effects of not eating for so long.