Bad needles or am I the problem?

Nell83

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Pronouns
She/Her
I've recently had my meds changed to Lantus and Trurapi and I'm not sure if it's the new meds, a bad batch of needles or me - but the injections are hurting - like a stinging sensation and I've had a few blood drops too. It almost feels like the needles are blunt or something? Has anyone experienced this?

I’ve no experience of trurapi, but Lantus does sting. The way it works is by being slightly more acidic than the Ph of the body, so that the insulin crystallise and absorbs slowly. I swapped to Levemir, which doesn’t sting, but when I was on Lantus, sometimes I used to count to ten loudly as i injected, and by the time I’d finished it had stopped stinging.