Anyone in Fiasp?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MichelleF78

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1.5 LADA
Hi all, novo rapid or novo slow is not working out for me and hospital have suggested trying Fiasp. I’m looking to hear if people think it’s better please?

Thank you x

I have been using Fiasp for a couple of years.
I prefer it to NovoSluggish but it took some time to get used to.
There are a couple of quirks
For me, the speed of activation for Fiasp is very dependent upon my BG.
- if my levels are in 4s or low 5s, Fiasp will start working immediately. I need to bolus after eating
- if my levels are over 10, Fiasp will feel like water and then, after an hour, start working so I have to take care not to rage bolus.
- if my levels are between 5 and about 8, I can bolus just before eating
- if my levels are between 8 and 10, I need to bolus 15 minutes before eating.

The other thing I find is that Fiasp does not last as long out of the fridge.
After about 2 weeks out of the fridge, Fiasp starts to lose its potency.

Until I realised this, I found Fiasp really frustrating but I persisted and started to see patterns I described above.

I too have been using Fiasp for a couple of years due to Novo(not so)Rapid.

Like @helli I had a period of frustration (3 months) before I found out how to make it work for me.
It is faster than NR but still not as fast as I would like and I usually need 45 mins prebolus time at breakfast and 20 mins at other times of day as oppose to 75mins and 30mins with NR.
Like helli I find that its speed of activity depends on my BG but even if my levels are in the 4s and 5s I need about 30mins prebolus time at breakfast. Again, like helli, when levels are above 10 it acts like water but I find that I actually need to "rage bolus" or more often stack smaller corrections to shift it and it can take several hours to bring me down into range.