Anyone gone back to injections from pumping? Can you share experiences please!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1.5 LADA
Hi there

I’ve been using medtronic 640g for a few years and recently using Libre 2 sensor. Problem I find is that I hate the burden of changing and I frequently hit blood vessels and get sore sites. I am not good with pain, I suffer with anxiety around making decisions with my diabetes and worry about getting it wrong or not being able to cope with a mistake I might make. I have other painful bowel condition which makes my tolerance a bit lower for pain I think. I’ve had my fair share of pain tbh living with it daily in other ways. Thing is, injections are burdensome in that I used to have to do 5 a day and then extra with snacks. Thinking of going back to jnjections and using dexcom as heard it’s superior to Libre 2 - Libre 2 frequently inaccurate for me, usually about 2mmol reading lower than what it actually is on bloods so I often switch the low glucose alarm off . Any thoughts (be kind! And productive 🙂. Thank you.

Hello,
it sounds as if you have hit the wall. :(
Quite a few do take a pump break so there's no issues or worries if you want to do that. You need to do what is best for you.
Have you tried different cannulas? Like you I find the medtronic (moronic) cannulas appalling and have often felt like slinging the pump into outer space.
Dexcom has it's ups and downs and for me personally I find it can be way out when bloods are sitting at 5 mine would keep screaming at me I'm going to be 3.1 in less than 20 mins. This drives me round the bend.

I found Libre inaccurate until I found a way to calibrate it to me. I came to the conclusion that I am different to the Factory Man they use for factory calibration.
I was so far out and not even consistently - one reading would be higher and then the next would be lower.