Any advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I've been using a pump for 13 months now and so far it's been pretty good. However, I seem to have hit a bump in the road. For the last couple of week my blood sugars have been up and down and I can't explain it. I have been having problems when I change my set, I seem to get a lots of bubbles in my insulin cartridge, not sure what I'm doing different but there are always bubbles now. Any advice? I also find that after a hypo my blood sugars are swinging high, which has never happened before on my pump. To be honest I'm just a bit fed up with it all :( I feel sick a lot too which doesn't help. Would love a break from my diabetes please!!!

Hi Julie,

Are you feeling sick due to high BG levels? And if so are you checking your blood ketones?

Everyone hits a wall from time to time, where everything seems to be going wrong, but don't worry you'll get things back on track! We do get bubbles forming in the reservoir by the 3rd day, due to the insulin having warmed up, so we now routinely do a full set change every 2 days. Possibly with the warmer weather you have had more bubble formation than usual? Do you make sure the vial of insulin is at room temperature when you fill the reservoir? Never straight from the fridge.

If you're experiencing an unusual spate of problems with cannulas or reservoirs, it's always worth opening a new box preferably from a different batch. If the new ones are problem-free, ring your supplier and ask for the faulty batch to be replaced. We have experienced this problem once or twice with infusion sets.

Another thing to consider would be your cannula sites. Are you rotating them sufficiently and not reusing scarred areas?