Advice Please

dotty1

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Pronouns
She/Her
Hi everyone hope your all well, Im a type 2 and have recently asked for a Libre 2 scensor to keep a check on my blood glucose...Ive recently been put onto the mounjaro injection as my BS were running quite high and I am really struggling... to keep on track Ive been monitoring my levels more up to 6 times per day and this helps as to what I eat and when Im feeling unwell ..also I work full time as a typist and my fingers are sore My GP on my request has denied giving one to me as they advised Im not on 2 types of insulin...Im gutted is this correct :( Thank You for reading

Sadly, that is the case. Unless on insulin, people with type 2 are rarely prescribed test strips, let alone Libre..
However, if your BG is high, a CGM may not be as suitable because they are designed to be more accurate at "normal BG levels" and the readings it provides can be quite erratic when your BG is in double figures.

As an IT person (one who can type), I spend most of my day typing and have not found an issue with sore fingers even when I was finger pricking an average of more than 10 times day. It may be worth reminding yourself about finger pricking techniques and checking the lancet depth is not too deep and "rotating"your fingers (using all of them rather than one or two because they are easier).

Last edited: