Advice on testing blood sugar pls- type 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Healthier

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi can anyone help me with how to test blood sugar and why.

I am type 2 so unsure how much this will help?

My blood sugar has been high for over a year now. I can’t get it down.

It was 100 I got it to 70 now it’s up to 80 again.

I’m losing weight Iv lost a stone which usually lowers it so I’m concerned.

Doctor keep swooping my medication to no change.

Any advice on testing appreciated , I am a massage therapist so I do worry about pricking my fingers and hygiene:/

There are two reason for routine blood testing using a finger prick monitor.

The first, and by far the biggest, is that you can see what effect your diet has on your blood glucose by testing before and after eating. By doing this you can find the things that give the biggest rises and change them for things that don't. The feed back is instantaneous and powerful. The second is that you can, for example, by testing first thing in the morning see "how you are doing", very useful if you are using weight loss as a way of reducing blood glucose.

The reason given in the NICE guidelines for not blood testing is that the patient might become obsessive about testing and this might lead to harm. The other reason, and one suspects the real reason, is the cost. Each time a finger prick is done you need a new test strip to put in your meter and these cost 40p or more each and over time the cost builds up, especially if you are doing several tests a day.

You will find that the vast majority of T2 forum members think that the upsides from testing far outweigh the downsides and most who have gone that route will say that the meter has been the most important factor in getting things under control.