Advice from dietician

lordburnside

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Pronouns
He/Him
I have just had a call from an NHS dietician as my name had got to the top of the list.
I have been managing my BG and it went from 55 to 42 and lst time it was 44 as I had lapsed a bit. Alcohol and lack of exercise!

I have been doing without rice, pasta, bread and potatoes for 6 months 99% of the time. The dietician says I should eat between 100g and 200g of carbs. He said I should eat wholemeal bread, wholegrain rice and pasta and some grains. As I recall these raise my BG somewhat!

I discussed the various advice I had received, from Diabetes uk, from You Tube, books and NHS and I was advised to follow the NHS requirements. I am not sure that I should. I think the people on this site have their own experiences. If I go back to bread, 2 Weetabix etc I will put on weight and I feel sure my BG will rise.

My current diet seems to work except for portion size, lack of regular exercise (weather related!) and I like alcohol.

Anyone on here follow NHS guidelines only and find that it works?

The way I see it, you have two options.....

Continue to follow what you have been doing which you know works for you and you have had fantastic success with...
or
Follow the NHS advice and keep testing and if it doesn't work, revert back to what you know does work.

Even if the NHS advice works for some people, it doesn't guarantee it will work for you which is why, here on the forum, we recommend people test and see what works for them as an individual and adjust their diet accordingly.

It is sad and frustrating that the NHS continue to churn out this "one size fits all "Eatwell Plate" dietary advice and that Diabetes UK continues to follow their lead.

Let us know how you get on if you decide to follow their advice please.