advice about antiseptic wipes?

Status
Not open for further replies.

curlygirl

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi,
As i am due to start my pump trial in the next month i have been wondering about a lot of things- one of which is the use of antiseptic wipes... Will i need to clean the skin with an antiseptic wipe prior to inserting? When i did a quick web search there were mixed opinions and several references to using the same 'pre-injection' wipes as when injecting. The only thing with that is that i have never used a wipe before injecting! I have always thought that it was 'normal' not to - i was never told otherwise when diagnosed and have not gathered from reading places like this forum that using wipes prior to injecting is necessary.
Anyway back to my question - do i need to use them once on the pump? Also, after removing, would they be needed then, or a bit of antiseptic cream or just leave it?

Any advice/experience appreciated.
Thanks.
Curlygirl

I think it's common in the US to use antiseptic wipes, but it isn't necessary unless you're doing a set change out and about. Just wash the site beforehand with soap and water. When my son removes a set, he puts a dab of savlon on. Some people use bio oil or zambuk ointment to heal any scarring.

We don't use anything at all, as long as the area is clean you're good to go. We don't tend to use anything when we take the cannula off either, unless for some reason it's sore or red, which has happened only a handful of times.

If you have oily skin then consider using Sterets Alcohol swabs box of 100 costs less than a couple of quid.

I asked the same question of my pump DSN before I started (as Pumping Insulin - the pumper's bible mentions them).

She advised against using alcohol wipes regularly as she said they could dry the skin and cause more problems than they were supposed to fix.