Acute Steroids.

Status
Not open for further replies.

SacrificedSin87

Relationship to Diabetes
Steroid Induced Diabetes
Hi, I’m just looking for a more experienced hand on this one.

Basically, I’ve been struggling with a chest infection which has been making my asthma really play up. Saw a doctor yesterday who said to increase my steroids from my usual 20mg to 40mg for a week. I was told that I could increase my background insulin (abasagalar) from 34 to up to 40 units a day. Problem is, I have had my blood sugars shoot right up and I’m struggling to keep them as they should be? Doctor says that unless I have high ketones then it shouldn’t be too much harm but my average today has been 14mmol. My ketones have been lower than 0.5 on testing.

Does anyone else have any experience about this? Last thing I want is my asthma to keep making me ill but I’m worried about my diabetes being out of control? I’m still new to a lot of this and often feels like I’m spinning plates and one keeps wobbling just as I get the others steady.

Hi, I’m just looking for a more experienced hand on this one.

Basically, I’ve been struggling with a chest infection which has been making my asthma really play up. Saw a doctor yesterday who said to increase my steroids from my usual 20mg to 40mg for a week. I was told that I could increase my background insulin (abasagalar) from 34 to up to 40 units a day. Problem is, I have had my blood sugars shoot right up and I’m struggling to keep them as they should be? Doctor says that unless I have high ketones then it shouldn’t be too much harm but my average today has been 14mmol. My ketones have been lower than 0.5 on testing.

Does anyone else have any experience about this? Last thing I want is my asthma to keep making me ill but I’m worried about my diabetes being out of control? I’m still new to a lot of this and often feels like I’m spinning plates and one keeps wobbling just as I get the others steady.