14 years today

Status
Not open for further replies.

SilentAssassin1642

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
14 years ago today I was being rushed to hospital with DKA after throwing up all over my class at school. I'm sat here thinking way too much about it, about what life was like beforehand. I was a typical kid, coming home from school and delving into the sweet tin. It was such a shock finding all this out, despite a three week stay in hospital (I was very very ill...doctors told my mum that had I not gone into hospital there and then then I wouldn't be with you all now...)

14 years on and I'm staring nueropathy in the face, i've been through huge struggles with it and I've come out of it almost scar free. I'm still learning about things, I'm still learning how to carb count and most of all I'm still earning how to deal with it all.

Most of all, in the past 15 years I never thought I would meet another individual with diabetes (the guy at uni doesn't count...he wasn't very nice) and then I found you guys. I just wanted to thank you all from the bottom of my heart for being so helpful and supportive. I couldn't have done it without you 🙂

I'm not sure whether celebrating is the right word...but I will be having cake at some point today. The biggest gooeyest chocolate cake I can find...

Gawd Salmonpuff you've got my mouth watering!

I can't imagine how you must have felt as a kiddo but it's scary enough being diagnosed at 37! (although not as ill as you beforehand). Glad you found support here...i've picked up lots of tips so far so it's been well worth coming.

Happy eating x

Congratulations are due as you are still here 14 years on

Thanks to you too for all your support Sam

Hazel

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi Sam,

Hope you're okay today, maybe it can be your D rememberance not celebration!??

Take care and I'm glad you're looking positively.

Rossi

I think it should be called the 'Pooped Pancreas Day':D