1 week in!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nat

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
After almost a year of trying to obtain it, I started pumping last week. Ups: BGL of over 33mmols, lows: 2.5. Scary even when you've been diabetic since you were 5 :(

I've used the shoulder holster, belt clip and an iPhone sock to experiment with different ways of transporting it, and have named it (him!) Percival the Pump. Getting used to having it around and really like the freedom of not injecting, but I have some questions for the experienced among you...
:confused:

I've got the DanaR, and it's taking me ages to do a reservoir and cannula change Is this "normal"? Presumably it gets quicker? I'm off work at the moment but when I go back I'm going to have to plan my mornings slightly differently if I can't speed things up! 😱

How often do people test their blood when they're used to it? Will I need to do more than 6 or 7 a day? Don't mind, but I'd like to know...

Great news Nat, hope the relationship with Percival is a long and happy one! 🙂 I don't pump, so can't answer your questions, but I'm sure someone will be along soon who can.

Hi Nat,
Changing cartridges etc will soon speed up, so don't worry. Remember you can't walk before you run. :D
Testing ! Only 6 or 7 tests a day is that all? :D
Fairly soon you will need to do some basal testing and that will involve a lot of testing and repeat testing to make sure you have your basals correct.

I was going to have the DanaR, loved it as a cracking little pump, unfortunately though I can't see the screen symbols very well :(